Board and Committees

Conference table with water bottles

The NAMA Board currently comprises eight members, including the Chairman, who were appointed by the Minister for Finance. The Chief Executive of NAMA and the Chief Executive of the National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA) are ex-officio members of the Board.

The NAMA Act (Section 18) sets out the principal responsibilities of the Board, which are

  • to ensure that NAMA discharges its functions efficiently and effectively;
  • to set strategic objectives and targets for NAMA;
  • to ensure that the appropriate systems and procedures are in place to achieve the strategic targets and objectives; and
  • to take all reasonable steps available to it to achieve those targets and objectives.

Aidan Williams, Chairman of the Board, was appointed Chair by the Minister for Finance on 20 December 2019 on completion of Frank Daly's second and final term of appointment. Mr Williams was originally appointed to the NAMA Board on 2 April 2019 and reappointed for a five-year term on 2 April 2024. Michael Wall and Eileen Maher were appointed on 3 July 2018 for a five-year term by the Minister and re-appointed for a five-year term on 3 July 2023. Charlotte Sheridan and Davina Saint were appointed by the Minister on 22 December 2020 for a five-year term and Sinéad Curry was appointed by the Minister on 24 July 2023 for a five-year term. The two ex-officio members of the Board are Frank O'Connor (Chief Executive of the NTMA) and Brendan McDonagh (Chief Executive Officer, NAMA).

No appointed member is eligible to serve more than two consecutive terms. The Minister determines the level of remuneration of appointed members and their entitlement to reimbursement for expenses. The ex-officio members do not receive any additional remuneration for their membership of the Board.

The Board has established four statutory committees, under Section 32 of the Act, to assist in the discharge of its responsibilities:

  • Audit Committee (chaired by Sinead Curry)
  • Credit Committee (chaired by Davina Saint)
  • Finance and Operating Committee (chaired by Charlotte Sheridan)
  • Risk Management Committee (chaired by Eileen Maher)

The Board has also established three advisory committees under Section 33 of the Act:

  • Planning Advisory Committee (chaired by Michael Wall)
  • Northern Ireland Advisory Committee (chaired by Frank Daly*)
  • Remuneration Committee (chaired by Davina Saint)

*This committee was dissolved following its final meeting on 8th September 2014.